Home >> Linux >> AT&T Will Keep Your Money If You Cancel TV Or Internet In Middle of Billing Cycle

AT&T Will Keep Your Money If You Cancel TV Or Internet In Middle of Billing Cycle

An anonymous reader quotes a report from Gizmodo: The telecom giant has announced the end of its prorated credits for some subscribers who cancel a service in the middle of a billing period. AT&T bills service for DirecTV, U-verse TV, AT&T Phone, AT&T Internet, and Fixed Wireless Internet in advance. It previously offered the option to receive a credit for any unused days in a month when a subscriber canceled before the next billing period, but it will now force many customers to ride out the month with nothing in return. The change goes into effect on January 14, 2019, in most states, so if you’re considering a change, it’s time to plan ahead. If you’re even one day into your billing month, you’ll presumably have to pay for the full period, according to the company’s new policy. You get to keep the service you don’t want for that period of time, but, of course, you’re canceling because you don’t want it. The change will not apply to customers in California, Illinois, New York and, in some instances, Michigan.


Share on Google+

Read more of this story at Slashdot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

*